Winnebago County Health Department

Refugee Assistance Program


The Refugee Program provides services for refugees, asylees, and parolees who reside within the nine northwest counties of Northern Illinois. These counties are Winnebago, Boone, Ogle, Stephenson, Lee, Jo Davies, Whiteside, Carroll, and Dekalb. Clients accessing the refugee program receive a physical examination in accordance with the Internal Order of Migration (IOM) regulations. Lab work is performed. Referrals are given for medical conditions identified at the time of examination. All receive the necessary immunizations for the adjustment of status for their permanent residency requirements. 


Winnebago County Health Department
401 Division Street
Rockford, IL 61104

Mailing Address:
401 Division Street
PO Box 4009
Rockford, IL 61110-0509

Refugees, asylees, and parolees referred by VOLAG Agencies or private sponsors.
There is no cost for services provided through the Refugee Screening Program.  
How do I get services?
Through a referral to the program.
Monday through Friday, 8 AM - 5 PM